Server update

Here we will discuss general topics related to other potential hardware or software projects
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: Server update

Post by yo3ggx »

For me is almost instantly. It must be something on your side, as this is the first complain about a potential slowness of this forum.
What browser are you using?
Bas
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Server update

Post by Bas »

Something is wrong....as still every click is a long wait.
You may want to use a VPN to check it.
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: Server update

Post by yo3ggx »

I've tried from my office and still very fast. I have a gigabit connection here (fiber to home), so network must not be a bottleneck on my side.
More, the server CPU and memory usage is always below 5-10%.
What browser are you using?
Bas
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Server update

Post by Bas »

Maybe this is the problem?

Code: Select all

bas@workstation:~$ nslookup yo3ggx.ro
Server:		127.0.0.53
Address:	127.0.0.53#53

Non-authoritative answer:
*** Can't find yo3ggx.ro: No answer

bas@workstation:~$ nslookup www.yo3ggx.ro
Server:		127.0.0.53
Address:	127.0.0.53#53

Non-authoritative answer:
www.yo3ggx.ro	canonical name = yo3ggx.go.ro.
Name:	yo3ggx.go.ro
Address: 188.27.125.156

I use Firefox under LInux. Never had any problems, just your site takes 20s on every click, could be something that loads without www in front of it.
It stalls all the time, and everytime for 20 seconds.
Bas
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Server update

Post by Bas »

What did you do? All of a sudden it's as fast as I expected it to be.

No more delays, it's click-boom speed :lol:
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: Server update

Post by yo3ggx »

Hi Bas.
It was like that all the time. :)
I'm using Google Could DNS service as DNS server. I didn't registered 'yo3ggx.ro' as www.yo3ggx.ro as my server use only HTTPS and the certificate does not have SANs.

73 Dan YO3GGX
Bas
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Server update

Post by Bas »

Weird.
Maybe some knot in a fiber cable somewhere :lol:
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: Server update

Post by yo3ggx »

Hi Bas,

Yesterday I had some issues with the name resolution for my web site through Google DNS servers, I don't know the root cause, but now is working as expected.

73 Dan YO3GGX
Bas
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Server update

Post by Bas »

I do not use Google's DNS servers as you never know what they do with your info.
However I found the problem, I used nameservers in the wrong order, used the backup as primary.

I use these: 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1

https://1.1.1.1/

These are really good and fast, but if you use the backup as primary :roll: :lol:
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: Server update

Post by yo3ggx »

Hi Bas,

I'm using Google CloudDNS for my domain (yo3ggx.ro).

73 Dan YO2GGX
Post Reply