jAReC version 4 beta versions

Here we discuss about both jAReC and jarecmini
Locked
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by yo3ggx »

SY1DAL wrote: Thu Oct 14, 2021 3:54 pm I do have an audio headset to connect without disconnecting anything else... but i have to be in the radio shack. Where i live is 50 km range from the radio shack.
Now I'm totally confused.
Why you need to be close to the radio? You connect the headset to the PC where you are now, not to the one where the radio is.
I've seen that you are using VNC to connect to the remote PC. With jAReC you don't need it. Run jAReC as server in remote location (where the radio is) and jAReC client on the local PC, where you connect the headset too.

Connect to the remote PC through jAReC, not through VNC.

73 Dan YO3GGX
User avatar
SY1DAL
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 5:59 pm
Location: Athens
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by SY1DAL »

Yes i understand what you mean.

And i know that i can only use Jarec... but the issue is that i can't make it work.

I mean that i let Jarec on host pc (where radio is) in server mode. Then i connect from Jarec here on my local pc as a client mode and i cannot connect. Strange.

Don't know why. I am using the local lan ip and not the remote IP address... because the local pc and remote pc are in a VPN network... so essentially i can use local IP addresses to connect between pc's (at least with VNC).

Not sure if that is applicable with Jarec . Will try again tonight (if not tired) .

Now i left it as server mode (v3) because i am going mobile in car, and will try to make some qsos :)

73s, Jimmy.
https://qrz.com/db/sy1dal
.:: Jimmy Sy1Dal ::.
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by yo3ggx »

SY1DAL wrote: Thu Oct 14, 2021 4:30 pm
I mean that i let Jarec on host pc (where radio is) in server mode. Then i connect from Jarec here on my local pc as a client mode and i cannot connect. Strange.
Don't know why. I am using the local lan ip and not the remote IP address... because the local pc and remote pc are in a VPN network... so essentially i can use local IP addresses to connect between pc's (at least with VNC).
Did you checked that the port used on the remote server for jAReC is not blocked by a firewall?

73 Dan YO3GGX
User avatar
SY1DAL
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 5:59 pm
Location: Athens
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by SY1DAL »

Of course I checked because I have intentionally for this reason to connect remotely the port 9000.

I will try again tonight if not tired from Karate ☺️

Will keep you informed for the whole connection and as well using the headset . On my local laptop I will use USB headphones for the testing.

73s
https://qrz.com/db/sy1dal
.:: Jimmy Sy1Dal ::.
User avatar
SY1DAL
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 5:59 pm
Location: Athens
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by SY1DAL »

Hi to all.

I have a video screenshot... trying to use server mode on host pc.. and client mode on my local laptop with headphones so i can make tests but no luck in the connection part.

I am sure about my port number being open on firewall as well router. And thats because i am able to use pocketrxtx with server (v3) mode without issues long time now.

So it has to be something else.

Take a look please in the video https://www.iplayradio.net/cdn/files/pu ... client.mp4
https://qrz.com/db/sy1dal
.:: Jimmy Sy1Dal ::.
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by yo3ggx »

Hi Jimmy,
From the video your setup is not clear.
If you want to run both server and client on the same PC (for test purpose), then you need two completely separated jAReC instances, in two separate folders.
- start first instance and set the mode to Server (not v3 server)
- configure the TCP port to be used for CAT, baudrate and audio (if used)
- press start. The radio panel will open in standby mode, without menus and with deactivated buttons. This pane is used just for display purpose, nothing to be controlled from here
- start second jAReC instance and configure it as client
- set the ip address to 127.0.0.1 and the port to the same port configured on the server side
- click START. A full radio panel will open with all usual buttons active.
- click Connect. From now on, operate from client in the same way as in direct CAT mode. The server radio panel will be automatically synchronized with the client radio panel.

73 Dan YO3GGX
User avatar
SY1DAL
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 5:59 pm
Location: Athens
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by SY1DAL »

Good morning Dan.

Why are you confused or you think my setup is not clear ?

On the video i have on left side VNC which is showing the remote PC and runs Jarec Server mode.
And on the right side i opened Jarec as a client mode.

I am not trying to run both server and client on same PC... why would i want to do that anyway ? It would be pointless trying to do something like that.

I was trying on that video to show you that having Jarec server on remote pc running and on my local laptop at home running Jarec as a client in order to connect to the remote PC. VNC is an essential tool for me so i can control that remote pc and run / install / uninstall programs and to be able turn on / off the transceiver.

Best 73s, Jimmy.
https://qrz.com/db/sy1dal
.:: Jimmy Sy1Dal ::.
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by yo3ggx »

My fault.
I've tested again this morning, Seems that in v4b9, because of so many changes, I've broke something in the Client mode.
Please wait for v4b10 later today.

I'm really sorry for the inconvenience, but is really impossible for me to test everything again after each change.

73 Dan YO3GGX
User avatar
SY1DAL
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 5:59 pm
Location: Athens
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by SY1DAL »

That is why you have me Dan to make tests :)

I thought i was a "beta" tester so nothing to worry about. And with the videos i make is for that exact reason. To show you how things work on my side, after each upgrade you release.

Will wait then for v4b10 to re-run all tests (except for cw and keyer as i am not operating in these modes).

73s
https://qrz.com/db/sy1dal
.:: Jimmy Sy1Dal ::.
User avatar
yo3ggx
Site Admin
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Bucharest, România
Contact:

Re: jAReC version 4 beta versions

Post by yo3ggx »

Update Oct 15, 2021
jAReC version 4 beta 10
Download jAReC v4.0b10 (jar file) https://www.yo3ggx.ro/jAReC/v4/jAReC_v4b10.jar
Download jAReC v4.0b10 (portable x64 Windows version file) https://www.yo3ggx.ro/jAReC/v4/jAReC_v4b10.zip
What's new https://www.yo3ggx.ro/jAReC/v4/whatsnew.html
Locked